Skip to Content

Can an Uber Driver Have More Than One Driver Account?

Customer ordering taxi via online apps from his mobile phone.

You may have wondered whether or not it was legal to have more than one Uber driver account in your name. The answer is yes! There are a few things to keep in mind if you plan on having multiple accounts, such as only being able to be logged in to one account at a time.

Read on to learn more about the regulations surrounding multiple accounts and how to take advantage of this option if it sounds like something that could benefit you and your business.

Is it Possible to Have Multiple Uber Drive Accounts On Your Phone?

Yes, each account will have to be assigned to a different phone number and a different email address.

To log out of one Uber account and into another, just follow these simple steps:
1. Login to the Uber application.
2. Click the menu icon (three horizontal lines) at the top left corner of the screen.
3. Select Settings.
4. Under Accounts, click Log Out next to whichever account name you wish to log out of.
5. Click Log Out again to confirm that you wish to log out of that account.
6. Enter your login information for whichever other accounts you would like to use on your phone.

Can I Use Another Person’s Uber Driver Account to Drive Uber?

According to Uber, technically, you are supposed to use your own Driver account. However, if you have a friend who is also a driver and wants to share his account with you on rare occasions, that should not cause any issues with Uber.

See also  17 Types of Side Hustles (Ideas & Examples)

Anecdotally, many drivers know other drivers who work under one person’s main account but occasionally switch to their spare or secondary accounts for a few hours in order to earn a little more.

You don’t necessarily want to do this as it is considered by some (but not all) drivers as a grey area and could lead to confusion or disputes down the road.

Can I Drive Uber On My Wife’s Account?

Happy taxi driver showing moblie phone to his customer.

Again, this is a grey area. You might get reported to Uber by the rider who thought they were getting a female driver. So if you want to drive with her account, do so at your own risk.

We realize that sometimes times may be hard and you have to do what you have to do to make ends meet. If your wife is unable to drive and your family is in a crisis, make sure to explain that to your riders. If you are able to register for your own account, do so in the meantime.

Understand that not every rider will be empathetic to your situation and they may still report her account. If you decide to do this, try not to make it a frequent occurrence so there is less chance she will get deactivated.

Can a Family Member Add Me to Their Uber Driver Account?

At some point during their time as a ride-sharing driver, your friends or family may have mentioned whether they could just add you to their account to boost their earnings. Unfortunately, that won’t work—each person has to have their own Uber account in order to drive and accept ride requests. So, while you may be able to drive their car when you register, you’ll need a separate account and a set of payment information from theirs.

See also  Who Manages Project Managers?

Furthermore, drivers are limited by most local requirements about who can drive when driving for ride-sharing companies like Uber. If you have an account, they can add you as a partner by going to partners.uber.com.

Can You Have 2 Uber Drive Accounts With the Same Phone Number?

There are many who have multiple Uber driver accounts, but they usually use separate phone numbers and email addresses to do so. You can’t have more than one account with one phone number linked to both. Uber recommends that each person has one Uber Driver account.

If you want to have a second account, you’ll have to have a second phone number as well.

Can I Delete My Uber Driver Account and Start Over?

Person using ride sharing app on mobile phone.

Yes, you can delete your Uber account and sign up for a new one. This will require you to wait 30 days for it to be permanently deleted. It’s worth noting that any reviews left for a future driver account will be deleted when your account is deleted.

If you change your mind, you can reactivate your account within 30 days, but all of your account information will be the same.

How Do I Delete My Uber Driver Account?

Go to your Uber Driver account on the Uber Driver website or in the app. Go to Settings and click on Privacy settings. After that, you can click a link to close your account. On the next screen, you will be asked to confirm that you would like to close your account.

Once you have done so, you will no longer be an Uber driver, and any earnings will cease accruing. Make sure that you have waited a few days for any late tips to roll in and cash out all of your earnings before doing this. On the Uber website, you can log in online with your account and follow a similar process.

See also  What are the Worst Parts of Being an Electrician?

Why Do Some Uber Drivers Use Two Phones?

Some drivers use one phone for Uber and another phone to drive for another app. The reason they might do that is that sometimes your rideshare app will not work while you are also driving with an app like Lyft or UberEats. You also may not get as many UberEats requests while you are working as a driver.

You can only be logged in on one Uber Driver account on one phone at a time. If you have 2 phones and 2 accounts, you can maximize the number of requests you can receive from multiple services. If you have both phones connected to different apps, then if one app isn’t working, you can still drive and be paid by using another app.

That way, if one goes down, it doesn’t mean that you can’t be paid for doing your job.

Do I Need to Make a New Account If I Get a New Car?

You don’t need to make a new driver account, but you do need to update your app. Just go to the ‘Vehicles’ section in your app and change your vehicle there.

Is it Possible to Use More Than One Car For Uber?

Yes, you can use more than one car for Uber! The way to go about it, if you want to do everything legally, is by taking advantage of Uber Fleet services.

What is Uber Fleet?

Customer ordering taxi via online apps from his mobile phone.

Uber drivers who are looking to grow their business can sign up for Uber Fleet, which allows them to register multiple vehicles through an Uber account.

See also  What are the Worst Parts of Being a Surgeon?

Essentially, fleet drivers act as their own boss: they maintain ownership of all of their cars and manage each vehicle’s details themselves. If you have multiple cars, you can rent cars out to other Uber drivers.

It’s basically like having your own Uber franchise.

Sources: